Face and Eyes

Peter Thomas Roth | Pumpkin Enzyme Mask

Hello Lovelies!

Today I thought I would do a review of a skin care product. I realised this area is seriously lacking on my Blog and since I have so much I did face palm myself… This is my first and only product (so far…) I own from this brand. If I’m honest I saw Zoella review this in her favorites video and I was like…hhmmm….I looked up reviews and all the ones I saw were positive so….here it is!

Stats:

  • Product Type – Face Mask
  • Brand – Peter Thomas Roth
  • Price – Beauty Bay – £29.50, Cult Beauty – £39.50
  • Amount of Product – 5 fl oz


To start off this mask is expensive! I think I got it when it was a bit cheaper on Beauty Bay but don’t remember how much I paid. I was really excited when it arrived and also taken a back by the size! It is a fairly big tub so I was pretty impressed initially.

The mask claims to be a three in one intensive resurfacer mask. The description says ‘exfoliates with pumpkin enzyme, peels with alpha hydroxy acid (AHA) and polishes with aluminium oxide’. The end result is meant to be smoother, radiant and younger skin. We shall see!


First off is packaging! I do like the simplicity of it, the clear tub is useful to see the product and the amount you use and I like that it just states what it is and what it claims to do, its matter of fact and to the point, it doesn’t feel like it’s trying to be something it’s not, or boast. My only comment is that sometimes I look at all the writing on the front and think ‘woah’ big word overload! I think because I have done my research about acids in skin care I wasn’t too fazed but I can definitely imagine myself looking at the description pre-knowledge and thinking, what…??? I believe the tub is made out of plastic not glass, however, it feels heavy and well made. I quite like the way it has been done as some people would say that for the price the packaging should be this and that, however, I think the simplicity makes it feel as though the money you parted with has gone on the actual product itself and since this is what you are going to slap on your face I am fine with feeling this way about it.

Now, if you are looking at this and thinking oohhhh pumpkin like in the Costa/Starbucks Christmas drinks then you are, sorry to say this, very wrong. This isn’t a sweet pumpkin smell, more like an actual pumpkin which, if I’m honest is pretty potent! The smell I don’t think is the best thing ever but it doesn’t bother me. If you really hate the smell of pumpkins though, I think you are going to struggle…


The texture of the product is like a think gel with a very grainy texture. I am assuming this grainy texture is the aluminium oxide powder. The good thing about this product is that you only need a small bit and trust me when I say a little goes a long way! It does state to use a thin layer also so for the amount you get vs the amount you use it is definitely worth the money. The directions say to apply to the skin then with wet fingertips massage it in so that the aluminium oxide powder can work. Leave for 3-7 minutes depending on how sensitive your skin is then rinse. It recommends to use 1-2 times per week. However If you have sensitive skin I would only use once a week! I tell you, if you have not used an AHA based product before, this stuff STINGS. It personally doesn’t bother me but I know some people who are affected and others aren’t. The second time I used this in the same week and it didn’t sting at all, this is however, the only time it hasn’t. The stinging does go away but for me the sensation is mainly focused on my cheeks, which is the area that I have a bit of rosacea. I tend to leave mine on for 7 minutes to get the most from it.

I have had different results with the mask, when  my skin was better it did a very good job of making my skin texture look and feel even and there was a definite radiance to my skin, this was on my first use. My second use was the time where I felt no stinging sensation and I have to say I did not see as clear results, my skin was left smooth and surprisingly looked less red on my cheeks. The other result I have had has been that it has left my skin looking less red and feeling very smooth whilst taking off any dry skin areas, mostly around my nose and cheeks. However, the day after it has revealed a few spots that have come up on my face, although this isn’t a bad thing as it means that impurities are being drawn out of your skin.

Overall I really like the feel of my skin afterwards, the mask definitely feels as though it does something and it has become my go to for when I feel as though my skin is really congested. I would really recommend this to everyone, although I would say if you have super sensitive skin to be careful and do a patch test before using as it could reeeeaaalllyyyyy sting. For the price, obviously Beauty Bay has it cheaper and that is where I would go for it, however, I think the amount of product you get compared to the amount you use is worth the price tag. I’m not keen on the higher price tag from Cult Beauty as that does seem a bit excessive but I would definitely repurchase with the Beauty Bay price tag!


Have any of you tried this mask? What are your thoughts?

Happy masking!

xxx

Leave a Reply

