Lips

Zoella Beauty |Xmas Lip Duo

I know what you’re thinking…Christmas??? Yes she did launch these as part of her Christmas range last year but I absolutely love them and am majorly impressed so I thought I would do a separate blog post on them. I did a separate post on her previous lip duo a while ago so if you want to have a gander at that click here.

Stats:

  • Product type – Lip balm
  • Brand – Zoella beauty
  • Price – It was a Christmas present (Thank you Elle!) no more than £10.
  • Colours – Red tin has a subtle gold shimmer
  • Amount of product – 0.3 oz

As usual I shall start with what I think of the packaging. The first thing that strikes me is the style of writing which, for me, gives a delicate and minimalist effect. I guess the best way to say it is that it reminds me of an Instagram font – picturesque, enough to stand out but not to overwhelm or offend. Although if you break it down the description of a lip balm is actually pretty odd I really like the way it has been done. The play with the ‘My’ word makes it feel more personal, like a little message to all owners of these products. I quite like the touch! I think the next obvious thing has to be the colours of the products, the champagne colour is like an understated dress whilst the red is absolutely stunning!

I have to admit one of the main reasons I wanted this duo was for the gingerbread scent as I’m not a big fan of vanilla, however, the vanilla scented balm is subtle enough that I actually really like it. The formula of these is the same as her previous two which is effectively a slightly more creamy Vaseline. They don’t leave a layer on your lips but aren’t as moisturising as a cocoa butter, however, I normally find these in my bag as they make your lips look plump and healthy. The vanilla scented one, as you can see, has no tint to it and applies like a really subtle gloss onto your lips before it sinks in.

The gingerbread scent is ssoooo nice, it is quite sweet and actually reminds me of a candle in the way it is scented although luckily it isn’t sickly sweet as you do get a strong kick of ginger. The formula is the same as the vanilla scented one except the base colour is more of a champagne hue with gold shimmer running through it. When applied to your lips it isn’t super shimmery, more of a subtle shimmer when it catches the light and gives your lips a more glossy look. I have to say I wear this a lot with a natural everyday makeup look as it makes your lips look really healthy and plump without having to try – always one for an easy product! The shimmer fades really naturally and evenly and you aren’t left with a shimmery sticky film over your lips, which is always a good thing… Again I usually end up chucking this one in my makeup bag as it’s really easy to wear yet adds a nice healthy look to your makeup, or even just on its own although I personally prefer this one with a subtle makeup look.

Overall I have been really impressed with these as I was with her previous range of lip balms so any more that she launches I will definitely be purchasing! I would also really recommend any lip balm from her range (Yes I would go as far as that) as I think they are great value for how good I have found them. I hope more get launched this year!

On that note I hope you have enjoyed this post and if you have anything to add please do in the comments! Have you tried these? What do you think?

Happy Balming!

xxx

2 thoughts on “Zoella Beauty |Xmas Lip Duo

  1. Very good blog! Do you have any hints for aspiring writers? I’m planning to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything. Would you suggest starting with a free platform like WordPress or go for a paid option? There are so many choices out there that I’m totally confused .. Any tips? Bless you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

