Face and Eyes

Rimmel | Lasting finish foundation

Being honest I haven’t tried many foundations in my time which is something I want to change! I had a Boots voucher to spend so I got myself a liquid foundation as my skin has gotten less oily so am more comfortable with using and trying more foundation types.

Stats:

  • Product Type – Foundation
  • Brand – Rimmel
  • Price – £7.99
  • Colour – 201 Classic Beige
  • Amount of Product – 1 fl oz

The first thing that struck me about this foundation is that its claiming a lot! 25 hr longevity and a skin perfecting full coverage. Let the testing commence!

First off, packaging. Being a drugstore brand I wasn’t expecting luxe packaging but I do appreciate a good looking product all the same! I really like the shape and style of the tube. To start with it is glass so has a nice weight to it and it has a smaller base which gets wider as you get to the top of the tube, this is really subtle but I like the look it gives. I also like the shape of the lid, I think the slant adds to the overall look and makes the bottle itself look pretty sleek. I like the red colour they have used but feel as though it makes me think of something serious…I have no idea why this is but hey ho! The final point I would like to make on packaging is that it has a pump! YES! I always thank the makeup gods whenever a liquid product like this has a pump so that in itself gets a thumbs up!


Now to get onto those claims! The back of the product further states that it is ‘sweat, heat humidity and transfer proof’ for these 25 hrs which is a big claim and I have to say on me this isn’t the case. Although it does a good job of lasting the day by the end of the day it has started to cake ever so slightly and has completely come off the tip of my nose, I also do not believe it is transfer proof as my white hoodie once showed!

Saying this though it also claims to have a ‘comfort serum’ (i’m assuming that makes i lighter to wear???) and have SPF 20 which is always good, it is very comfortable to wear all day and doesn’t make me feel like I have anything on my face which I was impressed with since it is full coverage I thought it would be thick and cakey. The actual consistency of the foundation is almost a gel-cream hybrid as it feels cooling on the skin but is more of a light cream. In terms of blend ability I find it is best applied with a damp makeup sponge, no this doesn’t impact the coverage. When I first applied it I thought I had completely messed up on the colour! It looked so orange but I went with it and I was so relieved it actually blended out and matched my skin colour and didn’t oxidize on me either!


The foundation covers EVERYTHING I barely need any concealer on afterwards which is a big thing for me as I am prone to Rudolph like cheeks and nose…ERGH! This does however cover my skin really well whilst looking natural, which again, I was impressed with. Being completely honest I have never applied a second layer as I haven’t needed to so I can’t tell you whether it builds well. I will say though that other products, powder or cream based, do layer very well on top and sit nicely too without either removing the foundation or looking cakey.


As I said above on me this doesn’t last 25 hours but my skin is more on the oily side overall but doesn’t cling to my odd dry patch so I do think that it would last longer on normal-dry skin! On that note I would really recommend this product to anyone looking for a high coverage foundation. The only thing I’d say is to thoroughly test the colour before purchase as I can imagine this could be an issue for some people.

Have you tried this foundation? What do you think?

Happy Foundationing!

xxx

2 thoughts on “Rimmel | Lasting finish foundation

  1. Oh my goodness! a tremendous article dude. Thank you However I’m experiencing challenge with ur rss . Don’t know why Unable to subscribe to it. Is there anybody getting identical rss problem? Anybody who is aware of kindly respond. Thnkx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

