Lips

BareMinerals | You better not pout set

I have always been a fan of bareMinerals and my first ‘higher end’ product was their original mineral powder foundation. Although you can get the brand in some larger Boots stores I wouldn’t say that this is technically a drugstore brand, however, it’s not as pricey as the likes of Dior or Chanel so I would say this is a mid range brand in terms of price. I saw these originally on sale on their website as they were a Christmas gift set, I managed to get my hands on them when I perused the after Christmas sales! If I’m honest I was pretty taken with the colours as I didn’t have a massive nude collection and I really liked every colour in the set.

Stats:

  • Product type – Lipstick
  • Brand – BareMinerals
  • Price – £29 – on sale it was £19.99
  • Colour(s) – watch me, never say never, fly high, break away, speak your mind, act natural and call the shots.
  • Amount of product  – Have no idea…I accidentally threw the packaging away…

 

I have to say the outer packaging is pretty bulky for 7 mini lipsticks but on the whole I quite like the way it has been done, I like the way they have laid the lipsticks! My other small gripe with the outer packaging is that it makes it look as though the colours are all pearlescent finishes which is not the case! In fact only one, the lightest shade, has this finish, the rest are your standard cream finish.

The packaging of the lipsticks themselves I really like, I think they feel really high-end and glamorous, although they are plastic they do have a weight to them which adds to the higher end feeling.

The first thing that I really like about these lipsticks is that the colour payoff is amazing! These are really pigmented and easy to apply, no lip liner is needed and ive never had to clean  the edges of my lips up after application. The lipsticks themselves have a really nice mint smell and to tingle ever so slightly when on the lips.

swatches from left to right: Act Natural (pearlescent pale pink), Break Away (mauve nude), Call the Shots (true red), Fly High (blue toned pink), Watch Me (muted orange), Speak your Mind (pink nude) and Never say Never (blue toned deeper pink).

I have to say probably my favourite colour is the orange toned watch me colour. As you would probably expect the longevity of these colours isn’t that of a matte and you will have to reapply, personally having to reapply doesn’t bother me anyway and for a cream finish these do last longer than you would expect.

I am pretty sure you can get these colours individually but the set is no longer available as it was a Christmas special. I would definitely recommend getting one of their lipsticks individually as i do think they are worth it. At some point I will look at what other ranges they do as I would like to try them!

Have any of you tried any of the bareMinerals collections? what do you think?

Happy Lipping!

xxx

Leave a Reply

