Face and Eyes · Lips

Makeup Look | January | Garnet

Hello lovelies!

I have a new monthly idea for my blog which is to do a wearable and not so wearable makeup look based on the gemstone colour of each month! What does everyone think? Let me know! January’s gemstone is Garnet which primarily comes as a deep red colour. I did look the gemstone up and there were a few which were more brown/yellowish brown based so I have incorporated these colours also.

The first look I did was of course the wearable one. I would like to apologize in advance as I got so into the makeup I forgot to take more photos of each stage…

I wanted to make the wearable look….well wearable! I wanted it to be something that is possible to wear on an everyday basis so I incorporated a brown smokey eye and a dark red lip. I didn’t put mascara on this one as I was carrying on to the non wearable look. On the bottom left of the image is my base, I would list all the products on my face but I’m doing a review on them as they are new so minus those, I used the Seventeen brow and define kit, the revolution fortune favors the brave eye shadow palette, Bourjois Jolis-au-vin lip velvet, the Revolution sugar blush palette (as highlight!) and the Revolution, bronzer, highlight and blush bronze trio, from which I used the bronzer.

Onto the non wearable! My first non wearable look I have done, I don’t have a dark red colour to replicate a deep Garnet colour so I have used a dark brown/black colour, copper and the second colour on the left of the middle picture below. The eye shadow palette is the Revolution 144 shades and I have done a blog post on it which you can check out on my blog 🙂

As a base for these eyes I used the Maybelline colour tattoo in Pomegranate before layering the red and copper colour I mentioned above and adding the brown/black to the crease and outer V before blending it out…a lot! I used the red colour to put through my eyebrows and a mixture of the red, copper and brown for my contour. I also piled the red and black colour over my Bourjois lip to deepen. To finish, although you can’t see it I used a small bit of copper to highlight.

I edited the below photo to enhance the colours of the lips and eyes. I was pretty pleased with the overall outcome considering it was my first non wearable look.

What do you guys think? Do you like the idea?

Happy January!

xxx

Leave a Reply

