Face and Eyes

Urban Decay Naked Skin | Colour correcting fluid | Green

This was my second exciting purchase from Urban Decay, the first being the eyeliner I reviewed a couple of weeks ago. I like a lot of the products Urban Decay have released and I am hoping to get more when I can to review them too. Prior to this purchase I have been wanting a green colour corrector for a while as I suffer with a bit of rosacea on my cheeks and nose. For those of you who are unsure what this is it is effectively redness of the skin… I want to stress that mine is mild but it does bug me as some days I liken myself to a tomato! Urban Decay do four colours (including the green) in their colour correcting range.

Stats:

  • Product type – Colour Corrector
  • Brand – Urban Decay
  • Price – £16.50
  • Colour – Green
  • Amount of product – 0.21 oz

First off I would like to appreciate the packaging. The usual Urban Decay standard, shimmery box and sleek designs but possibly the thing that impressed me most was the grey rose pattern inside the box. I thought this was such a classy touch and adds to higher end feel.

To apply the product feels really light and cooling on the skin and the applicator allows you to either apply a layer across a large area or use the tip to apply to a smaller area, such as a spot. Something I will say is to work in sections as when applied dries fairly quickly on the skin which makes it difficult to blend out. To blend it out I have tried using a sponge, brush and my finger and I have to say I really like the way it blends out with my finger the most. I just find the product stays in the area I want and spreads out nicely. Another tip with this product is that since you have to apply it beneath foundation, if you don’t set it you end up wiping it off when you do get round to applying your foundation. I set mine using a powder then a fixing spray and this works well for me – just make sure it’s completely dry before applying foundation!

               Before                           With the corrector                With a layer of foundation                                       

Unfortunately today was better in terms of redness so the above picture doesn’t showcase the corrector as thoroughly as I’d of liked. However you can still see a difference when I’ve applied it. Another thing I found with this corrector is that, at the end of the day when all your makeup is heading south, it either disappears off my nose if I don’t set it or it’s too good for my foundation so in the places where I have applied it I end up with tinted green patches on my face. Not the best look! For reference I use the Revlon colourstay foundation for oily combination skin. I would like to try a more hard-wearing foundation with this corrector to see if the same thing happens. Unfortunately I don’t yet have the funds for this so one day…

This is the overall look I ended up with

I am pretty impressed that the corrector does cover my redness yet is really light on the skin. I would probably repurchase, however, I would like to try some drugstore versions to see if they have the same effect/outcome first.

Have any of you got any recommendations? Do you have the same problem?

Happy correcting!

xxx

8 thoughts on “Urban Decay Naked Skin | Colour correcting fluid | Green

  1. I always apply a thin layer of concealer over any corrector I use. It helps with hiding it under foundation. I tend use it over blemishes than general redness though. If you try it out, let me know how it works for you! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. If you have oily/ combo skin, try out the L’Oreal Infallible Pro Matte. I find it has really good coverage and lasts! I also use the Coty Airspun powder from Walmart to set my makeup or bake with. Its huge jar for around 5 bucks. Keep us updated if you try anything new!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

