Lips

The Ultimate Vampy Red | Bourjois

For ages now I have been looking for the ultimate deep rich red colour that isn’t too brown or pink based. Think Jeffree Star Unicorn Blood, which, at the time wasn’t available in the UK! Although it is now I have found an alternative drugstore version, just in time for Halloween!


The magic of Bourjois hasn’t let me down! Admittedly I haven’t seen this colour before and I’m assuming it’s because I haven’t looked in a Boots that’s big enough! The colour is No. 19 Jolie-de-vin of their Rouge Edition Velvet liquid lipsticks in a matte finish. The lipstick retails for £8.99 so if you are in the market for a dupe of Unicorn Blood or just that deep vampy red the price is bang on!

The colour doesn’t come out as deep when swatches on the hand

I’m going to start with the more negative sides to the lippy as I don’t want to end on a sour note! There aren’t many though! The first issue is that it isn’t a ‘matte’ finish as it never completely dries on your lips, I would say more of a suede effect as it’s not glossy. Personally this doesn’t bother me as I really like suede finishes but for those who like a really matte look, this may be disappointing. The other disappointing factor is that the product transfers easily from your lips, so those looking for a long-lasting colour pay off may, again, be disappointed. Again this doesn’t bother me as I don’t mind reapplying.


Onto the positives! The colour is amazing! Really pigmented and comes out exactly how it shows on the tube. The formula isn’t too drying on your lips and is really comfortable to wear. Although the product does transfer and fade, it does so evenly so gives a nice tinted effect instead of going patchy which is a big bonus in my opinion. The applicator applies the product smoothly and is small enough to apply precisely. The scent of this is the typical Bourjois perfumed scent that you get across all their products which reminds me of parma violets! Granted if yo don’t like scented makeup this is a disadvantage but as far as scents go its lovely.


I would definitely recommend this product to anyone wanting to do a Halloween look or if you are just in the market for this type of colour. The formula is really smooth and for the price you can’t really complain.

Happy Vamping!

xxx

Leave a Reply

