Uncategorized

Rimmel Stay Matte Powder

I have been using this product for quite a while now and it is one of those ones that has received good reviews for a drugstore powder. BUT does it live up to the hype?

The product is a pressed powder that claims to provide ‘5 hours of natural shine control’and has 6 shades in the collection ranging from ‘transparent’ to ‘warm beige’. The one I use is transparent which I believe is the better option across any powders, however, the range does not cater to those with a darker skin colour (although I do not know how transparent will apply to darker skin).


I started using this when my skin was still in its oily teenager phase, my skin now is oily-combination as I now get some dry patches. I am also one of those people who is constantly boiling so a matte powder is definitely something I need and reach for! This powder for me does not last 5 hours, sometimes barely lasting five minutes depending on how hot I am and is inconsistent on whether it leaves a ‘powder look’ on your skin.


For £3.99 I guess I shouldn’t really complain as when I lightly dust the powder over the top of my foundation it does help to set it in place without leaving my face looking like I’ve sneezed into a bag of flour! For me this product is not build able on my skin for this very reason, meaning I do not get the full effect. However, those of you with oily skin without being a furnace like myself will see the benefit of this product whether you use it on top of foundation or on its own, I would recommend re applying it throughout the day for best results and it does sit nicely on top of a moisturizer. Personally I have found that the best application for this product with or without makeup/moisturizer on your face is to swirl a large fluffy powder brush round the pan a couple of times then lightly tap the excess off and swirl round the problem areas of your face such as the nose, chin and forehead. This area is known as the T-Zone.


Although I have a love hate relationship with this product I am the first to admit that on a hot day (a normal day for me!) there isn’t much makeup that will stay on your skin anyway and for £3.99 its not exactly going to be a ‘miracle product’. Despite my gripes I have repurchased this as it does give a nice finish when me and it are in our ‘love’ phase and I would recommend it for a first time powder.

Happy Powdering!

xxx

3 thoughts on “Rimmel Stay Matte Powder

  1. I like this powder, but also find that it’s not buildable as it will give that powderly look if too much is applied. However, usually just applying one layer over my makeup is enough to keep my oil at bay so this is a win in my book.

    Like

Leave a Reply

